People in Hope Hills, NC are like everyone else, wanting and needing to drive. North Carolina has some rules about how much insurance drivers are required to carry in case they are in an accident. Every driver will need to be able to prove liability coverage totaling up to $30,000 to cover any bodily injuries, such as broken bones or whiplash, with a total of $60,000 for the accident. Drivers also need at least $25,000 to cover the victim’s vehicle.
Any policy you obtain through Cross Creek Insurance will be sure to meet those minimal requirements. If you are caught driving and it is discovered that you are not carrying the minimum amount of coverage, there are serious possible repercussions.
Your possible penalty for driving without insurance in North Carolina depends on how many times this has happened, and punishments get progressively worse. You can even have your vehicle registration suspended if you have not verified the vehicle is insured.
The first fine is $50, with an extra $50 fee for license reinstatement. The next penalty is $100, and the third is $150. All of these carry the extra fee for license reinstatement and a 30-day registration suspension.
The state of North Carolina takes driving without insurance very seriously, and you can also receive criminal charges if you are caught driving without proof of financial responsibility. Operating a vehicle without insurance is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, meaning it is punishable by up to 120 days in jail. The Court may also issue a fine, and you could get probation.
Clearly, it is better to have a solid insurance policy from a company you can trust when driving in Hope Hills, NC. If you want to make sure you have coverage that makes you comfortable, or if you just have questions, feel free to call one of the friendly agents at Cross Creek Insurance today.