Insurance is in place to protect you from having to pay out of pocket when unexpected situations arise that would otherwise cost you a significant amount of money. When you sign up for an insurance policy, such as one protecting your house, you set up coverage against a number of specific situations. Common insurance coverage for homeowners insurance includes protection against natural disasters, flooding, fire, theft, and accidents on the property.
When one of these situations occurs, you have to file a claim with the insurance company. Depending on the type of claim it is, you may need to take photographic evidence of the damage and document it. An insurance claims adjustor comes to look at the damage to your car or house. We send them out to make sure that the damage estimates are accurate, so that the claim is processed as quickly as possible.
The longer it takes for a claim to get processed, the longer you have to take before you get to return to the normalcy of your life. You don’t want to have to go without a car or to have to deal with house repairs for any longer than you need to.
Another important aspect of insurance is to go with a company that understands claims may occur at any time of day or night. We always have someone available in the office to talk to you after an accident or problem occurs. 24/7 availability for our agents is an important part of the service that we offer you. Our insurance agents in Hope Mills, NC are always happy to help.
All drivers in Lexington, NC are required to maintain the state’s minimum levels of coverage for bodily injury, property damage and uninsured motorists. Anyone who has a lapse in coverage, and therefore does not meet the state’s minimum standards for a period of time, is subject to a penalty. The penalty is determined by how many lapses there have been in the previous three years and the duration of the current lapse.
What Happens When You Have a Lapse in Coverage
When you have a lapse in coverage, your auto insurance provider is required to notify the department of motor vehicles (DMV) in North Carolina. The DMV will then send you Form FS 5-7, which you must complete and return within 10 days. When submitting this form, you will need to provide proof that you have a current insurance policy and pay the appropriate fine.
The Fines and Fees
In North Carolina, the fines assessed are primarily determined by the number of previous lapses you have had in recent years. In any given three-year window, the first fine is $50. After your first lapse, the fines increase to $100 and then $150 for the second and third offense. Failure to submit this payment within 10 days results in increased fines.
Should you fail to return Form FS 5-7 with the appropriate documentation and payment within 30 days, the DMV will revoke your license plates. When you apply for new ones, you will have to pay the original fine, any late fees, a $50 service fee and the fee for new license plates.
Find Insurance Immediately
The first step to recovering from a lapse in insurance coverage is to immediately find new insurance. You can use our online tool to shop around and find a new policy today. If you need help with the DMV’s paperwork, call our agents for assistance.